Former Bank Building is Open Again
The square building with the clock tower at La Collinette, the crossroads at the top of Harbour Hill, took on a new lease of life this week. The building was formerly home to the Sark branch of the NatWest Bank and was built in 1958, originally being a branch of the National Provincial Bank, although there has been a bank on this site since 1925. Earlier this year NatWest closed its Sark branch but moved its banking operations to the Sark Post Office. The building is owned by the Magell and Woolford families who also own Stocks Hotel. They were keen that this iconic little building remains open to the public in some way so for this season have set up a gift shop that is being staffed by two local ladies, Sandra Howard and Fiona Bird. As well as running the shop the ladies are on hand to give advice to visitors on Stocks Hotel and other points of interest as well as direct them to the Sark Visitor Centre just a couple of minutes walk away at the other end of the Avenue. Former bank manager Chris Elgie, who worked at the bank for 19 years until its closure, and Bob Girard, Island Director of Corporate Banking for Natwest in Guernsey, joined the owners and other guests to celebrate the re-opening of the building yesterday.
Pictures and Words by Sue Daly
Open again, the bank building
Guests celebrating the opening of the shop