The Past on Show
Fascinating images from the archives have been on show this month thanks to two events organised by La Société Sercquaise. The first was an evening presentation at the Island Hall revealing a collection of mostly Victorian photographs from glass lantern slides. The images are a gift to Sark from photographic expert John Hepburn and include pictures of Creux Harbour, the Manoir Cottages and the island’s coast. As well as showing the new collection, the evening was also organised to encourage others to bring out their pre-war photographs and everyone enjoyed looking through familiar scenes from the past as well as spotting long lost relatives. La Société Sercquaise have chosen farming on Sark as the theme for the summer exhibition in their Heritage Room, next door to The Visitor Centre. As well as a wonderful collection of photographs, the display includes old farming implements and dairy equipment such as butter moulds. The Room is open every weekday between 11am and 1pm. Entry is free and the exhibition will continue throughout the summer.
Pictures by Sue Daly L – R The Manoir Cottages around 1880, On the beach in Creux Harbour, Mrs Esther Perrée (nee Hamon) at a post war cattle show, Charlie Perrée at La Forge