WHERE TO EAT

Restaurants, Cafes,
Tea Rooms, Bars

HOW TO GET HERE

Flights and Boats Private
Charters and Luggage

ISLAND LIFE

Life on Sark, meet
the locals

THINGS TO DO

Something for everyone
throughout the year

Events on Sark in 2015

Most guest houses and self-catering accommodations on Sark remain open all through the year, please go to our ‘Where to Stay’ page for more information.

Monday 2nd February 2015 Introduction to the Alexander Technique (a simple and practical method for self-improvement and self-help. There are benefits for chronic back pain too.) 2 hour workshops to introduce the principles of the Technique. The Island Hall 5.30pm – 7.30pm. Contact Yvonne on 01481 832820 or thecrusoes@tiscali.co.uk for further information. Cost £10 per person. If enough funds are taken a donation to Professor Saint Fund will be made. Book at the Island Hall, please bring a blanket or a mat and a paperback book.

Thursday 5th February 2015 Continuation of the above

Friday 6th February 2015  Messy Church at the Methodist Chapel. Messy and fun creative activities for families, a Messy celebration and a lovely dinner. 4-6pm. Donations welcome.

Saturday 7th February 2015Charity darts 7pm onwards match at the Island Hall 01481 832666

Wednesday 11th February 2015   Quiz league  7.30 pm  Island Hall

Saturday 21st February 2015 JUMBLE SALE  2pm Island Hall  to raise funds for the Red Cross

Wednesday 25th February 2015   Quiz league  7.30 pm  Island Hall

Saturday 28th February  2015     Stocks Hotel re-opens, call 01481 832001 for hotel and restaurant bookings.

Monday 2nd March 2015Sark Wildlife exhibition at the Sark Visitor Centre from noon until Sunday 3rd May

Sunday 15th March 2015  Stocks Hotel host the 2nd special lunch in conjunction with La Societe Sercquaise, followed by the showing of some more old film footage of Sark taken by Reg Adams during the 1950′s, 60′s and 70′s. Raising funds for the Old Film Fund. Phone Stocks to book your table 01481 832001.

Wednesday 18th March 2015   Quiz league  7.30 pm  Island Hall

Friday 20th March 2015 A special gourmet dinner at Stocks Hotel featuring a special banquet menu with complementary matching wines accompanying each course. Phone Stocks Hotel 01481 832001 for more details and to book.

Saturday 28th March 2015      Murder Mystery evening dinner at Stocks Hotel ‘Murder by Chocolate’. Phone Stocks on 01481 832001 for bookings.

Early April date TBC  Spring ‘Starfest’ weekend on Sark, during which our very special new island observatory will be officially opened.

Easter Friday 3rd April 2015      Sailing model boats on the duck pond at Beauregard 10.30am. Hot chocolate and hot cross buns guaranteed, even if the weather isn’t! For charity.

Easter Monday 6th April   Launch of  5 bays in 5 days challenge.  More details soon ….

21st – 28th April 2015 Lynda Fairbairn will be a special ‘artist in residence’ at Stocks Hotel. Lynda will take individuals and small groups on short, prearranged art tuition classes to various locations around the island. Call Stocks to book.

Wednesday 22nd April  2015       La Sablonnerie Hotel  re-opens in Little Sark. Call Elizabeth on 01481 832061 for hotel and restaurant bookings.

Saturday 25th April until Sunday 10th May 2015         WILD FLOWER FORTNIGHT;

Sat 25th April 2015  2 pm  ~  Gouliot headland

Sun 26th  April 2015 2 pm  ~  Little Sark

Mon 27th April 2015  2 pm  ~  Greve de la Ville and Point Robert

Wed 29th April 2015  2 pm  ~  Derrible/Hogsback

Sat 2nd May 2015   2 pm   ~  L’Eperquerie

Sun 3rd May 2015  2 pm  ~  Little Sark            

Mon 4th May 2015 (bank holiday) 2 pm  ~  Dixcart Valley

Wed 6th May 2015,  2 pm  ~  Visitor Centre to La Sablonnerie

Sat 9th May 2015  2 pm  ~  L’Eperquerie

 

Friday 1st May 2015 Piano concert by Leslie Howard The Island Hall 8 pm  Tickets £15/£10 Friends of Sark Music

Monday 4th May 2015‘Occupation’ exhibition at the Sark Visitor Centre from noon until Sunday 7th June

Wednesday 6th May 2015 Special Single Malt Whisky tasting dinner featuring a special banquet menu with complimentary matching style Single Malt Whiskies with each course. Book with Stocks Hotel.

Saturday 9th May  2015  10.30 am     Guided walk ‘Glimpses of the Occupation’   Visitor Officer Karen Adams will offer a 2 hour walk looking at places of significance related to the German Occupation of Sark during World War II. Tickets cost £4 per adult, on sale from the Tourism Office. Call 832345 to book, or e-mail office@sark.co.uk.

Saturday 9th May 2015 Cricket SCC V Sark CC (charity match) 12pm Millenium Field

Sunday 10th May  2015   70th Anniversary of the Liberation of Sark from German Occupation. 09.45  Sark Belle departs Guernsey, bringing over all specially invited guests for the day, including the Chelsea Pensioners, the Gurkhas, members of the clergy etc. and possibly a jazz band! Arriving at  Creux harbour.    10.00 The normal passenger boat will depart Guernsey. Those visitors wishing to join us in our celebrations will come through to the Creux harbour where the daytime events will be taking place.    11.15  Battle of Britain flyover at Creux harbour (TBC)    11.15   After the flyover, the Service of Commemoration.      12.00   An official unveiling of a granite plaque by Mrs Nellie Le Feuvre, the last remaining deportee living on Sark, to commemorate those who were deported by the Germans to work camps in Eastern Europe.          12.15   till 2pm  A marquee reception at the Creux Harbour. All are welcome.    14.00   the Chelsea Pensioners will be taken on a carriage trip.

Tuesday 19th May 2015  Coull String Quartet The Island Hall  8 pm Tickets £15/£10 Friends of Sark Music

Saturday 23rd May until Monday 1st June 2015        Scarecrow Trail competition

Saturday 30th May Cricket SCC v Vagabonds CC 12pm Millenium Field

JUNE 2015      TASTE of SARK month   Details to follow soon …

Saturday 6th June 2015 Cricket SCC V States of Guernsey CC 12pm Millenium Field

Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th June 2015        Sark 10 weekend Triathlon

Monday 8th June 2015History of Sark Tourism exhibition at the Sark Visitor Centre from noon until Sunday 5th July

Thursday 11th June 2015 South American Music Villalobos & Turner The Island Hall  8 pm  Tickets £15/£10 Friends of Sark Music, available at Visitor Centre and Island Hall

Saturday 13th June 2015 Cricket SCC V Jazz Hats CC 12pm Millenium Field

Saturday 20th June 2015 Cricket Sark CC V Wanderers CC 12pm Millenium Field

Wednesday 24th – Thursday 25th June      Midsummer Show at the Island Hall

Saturday 27th June 2015  Cricket  Sark CC V Alderney on the Millenium Field 12pm start

Saturday 27th June 2015  at the Island Hall, ‘An Evening of Song’ featuring the music of Gershwin, Sondheim and traditional songs by Harmonious Friends from Jersey. 7.30pm start TBC.   Tickets from Sark Visitor Centre and The Island Hall   01481 832666   £15/£10 Friends of Sark Music

Sunday 28th June 2015     STREET MARKET    in The Avenue

Friday 3rd to Sunday 5th July  2015          FOLK FESTIVAL 2015   weekend Visitor Tickets SOLD OUT, but there will be lots going on island wide. Local resident tickets available from Sark Visitor Centre.

Monday 6th July 2015 –  ‘Dark Sky’ exhibition at the Sark Visitor Centre from noon until Sunday 2nd August

Saturday 11th July 2015  Cricket Sark CC v Broke Bat CC 12pm Millenium Field

Friday 17th to Sunday 19th July 2015         SHEEP RACING    weekend. Book your accommodation and boats EARLY!

Wednesday 22nd July 2015  Guitar concert at Stocks Hotel Raymond Burley  8 pm

Saturday 25th July  2015         2pm  Guided walk ‘Artists of Sark

Wednesday 29th July 2015  ‘Fascinating Aida’ at The Island Hall 8pm  TICKETED EVENT £15 / £10 Friends of Sark Music, available from Sark Visitor Centre and Island Hall

Friday 31st July 2015          Sark Cricket Club V MCC on the Millenium Field 12pm or earlier

AUGUST 2015    CREAM TEA competition month      Details to follow soon ….

Saturday 1st August  2015 2pm       St. Peter’s Church Fete, in the grounds of the Vicarage.

Monday 3rd August 2015 ’Commemoration 450′ exhibition at the Sark Visitor Centre, from noon till Sunday 6th Sept

Thursday 6th August until Sunday 9th August 2015   

Island wide celebrations and events to mark the 450th anniversary of the arrival of the first Seigneur of Sark from St Ouen, Jersey. 2015 sees the 450th Anniversary of the charter from Queen Elizabeth 1 to Helier de Carteret, granting him settlement rights in Sark in perpetuity. This historic moment changed Sark’s destiny and the lives of many Jersey families, forging a close link between the two islands which remains today.

During the summer there will be a Treasure Hunt, guiding walkers of any ability around the island to places of historical interest. Maps with entry forms will be available from the Visitor Centre at a cost of £1. A great souvenir!

Thursday 6th August Children’s pageant 2pm, (to be held in the area around the Manoir), Courtyard Market outside Visitor Centre, display of the Children’s Sark map in the Visitor Centre (after the pageant), exhibition at The Cider Press Barn and opening of the new Sark Henge on the south-east coast of Sark in the evening (6pm start TBC).

Friday 7th August 2015   Cricket Sark CC v MCC (Middlesex CC, a CI and UK representative side) 12pm or earlier Millenium Field

Saturday 8th August  Helier de Carteret round the island evening cruise on the Sark Belle.   Depart Guernsey 17.10, Arrive Sark 1800, depart Sark 1815 Arrives Maseline after circumnavigation 2015, departs Sark 2030, Arrive Gsy 2120. Ticket prices £10 from Sark Shipping 01481 724059 and Sark Visitor Centre 01481 832345. Limited number of 100 available. PLEASE NOTE: TICKETS ARE SOLD STRICTLY AS A ROUND TRIP, NOT AS A SINGLE TRIP AND CANNOT BE USED FOR ALIGHTING INTER-ISLAND.

PROVISIONAL SAILING WITH MANCHE ILES TO SARK  ON THIS DAY

 

Sunday 9th August   ‘Family Fun Day’ on the Millenium Field, with games, food, fancy dress and competitions. Prizes given for the Treasure Hunt entries. approx. start time 12pm midday. Final event for the 450th Anniversary Celebrations.

PROVISIONAL SAILING WITH MANCHE ILES TO SARK ON THIS DAY

 

Saturday 15th August 2015 Cricket Sark CC v Stollers CC 12pm Millenium Field

Sunday 16th August 2015 ‘Sark Dog and Pet Show’ at the Seigneurie Field

Friday 21st August to Sunday 23rd August  2015       Jazz and Swing weekend

Sunday 23rd August      11am  Sea Service at Creux Harbour

Wednesday 2nd and Thursday 3rd September 2015       Grand Autumn Show at the Island Hall. Come and see some of the most beautiful produce, grown on Sark!

Friday 4th September and Saturday 5th September 2015     Fantasie, a ’Son et Lumiere’   A special narrated performance with music to celebrate the history of Sark at La Seigneurie. Starts 9.00pm both nights, ticket price £15 TBC. Tables can be booked for a pre-performance dinner at Hathaway’s restaurant in the grounds. Call Andy Tortice on 07781 446437 to book.

Monday 7th September 2015 - ’What do we do in the Winter ’exhibition at the Sark Visitor Centre from noon until end of November

Thursday 10th – Saturday 13th September 2015 Foraging Weekend. The return of John Wright, the renowned forager from River Cottage in Dorset. John will be conducting personal foraging forays through Sark Fields, hedgerows and seashores to discover the joy of ‘edible treats beneath your feet’. Followed by a cookery demonstration and dinner menu featuring the foraged goodies. Book at Stocks Hotel.

Friday 11th September to Sunday 13th September  2015      OPERA WEEKEND TBC  including master classes, an evening opera gala and island-wide events

Sunday 20th September 2015     STREET MARKET    in The Avenue

Friday 9th – Sunday 11th October 2015    Autumn STARFEST WEEKEND

Wednesday 14th October 2015  Jackie Oates Folk Singer at the Island Hall 8pm tickets £15 / £10 Friends of Sark Music